Diving in a Sunken City

Sorry for the few days absence everyone, I’ve been sick the last few days and didn’t really feel up to downloading photos from my gopro or writing anything.

image

But now that I’ve recovered, I’m happy to say I survived my dive in Lake Atitlan! A little bit eary diving in such murky water, but it was still a great bit of fun. Also the first time I’ve dived at altitude (1500m above sea level!), which meant I had to stay at the lake one more night before leaving or risk death (something I do my best to avoid ๐Ÿ˜‰).

image

So the interesting thing about Lake Atitlan was that the lake is constantly rising, because it has no natural outlet. Which means some of the buildings in the shore literally have their entire first story underwater. So we spent the last part of the dive swimming through an underwater bar, sauna, and infinity pool. You could just imagine  what the place used to be like before it was swallowed by the lake.

Anyway, now I’m at the beautiful El Paredon, at the Driftwood Surfer Hostel. And the view is gorgeous ๐Ÿ˜‰

image

Leave a Reply

